‘Cream’ of the crop hotels invited to enter 2017 Afternoon Tea Awards


The boom in afternoon tea demand has seen hotels up and down the country up their game when it comes to offering sweet treats and delicate sandwiches in the middle of the day.

Now those who think they are the real ‘cream’ of the crop can put themselves up for an award by entering the 2017 Afternoon Tea Awards.

With four accolades up for grabs, hotels up and down the country can enter the one that suits them best, and will then go up against the best tea rooms and restaurants in a bid for the winner’s title.

Story continues below

The four categories are:

Best Traditional Afternoon Tea;

Best Contemporary Afternoon Tea;

Best Children’s Afternoon Tea;

Best Tea Presentation.

The deadline for entries is March 31, with the awards ceremony taking place in London in July.

Each entry will be judged by a panel, including pastry chefs, hospitality professionals and food journalists, who will review and report on each one.

Keith Newton, managing director of, said: “We had a tremendous response to last year’s Afternoon Tea Awards. The professionals appreciated the recognition they got for their hard work and the detailed feedback they received from the judges.”

Russel Platt, director of Food and Beverage at Claridge’s, said: “We were delighted to be awarded ‘Best Traditional Afternoon Tea 2016 and look forward to taking part again this year.”

General information about the Afternoon Tea Awards 2017 can be found at:

Tags : afternoon teaawardshotels
Zoe Monk

The author Zoe Monk

Leave a Response