Independent Hotel Show introduces ‘evolved’ new categories to annual awards


The Independent Hotel Show has shaken up its annual awards with the introduction of two new categories to the ceremony in October.

This year’s exhibition will run from October 15-16, with the awards taking place on the first evening straight after the close of day one.

New for this year will be the Hotel Innovation Award and the GM of the Future category, which is supported by the Master Innholders, to be handed out alongside the Independent Hotelier of the Year accolade.

Story continues below

The title of Outstanding New Hotel has been dropped from the line up.

The nominations for these awards are now open and will close on June 21, when a judging panel will decide on the winner.

The Independent Hotel Award is given to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the sector over the past year, committed to the development of their team and the success of their establishment.

Adam Rowledge from Georgian House Hotel was the 2018 winner. Other recipients include Kate Levin, Paul Bayliss and Tim and Kit Kemp.

The newly-introduced Hotel Innovation awards celebrates an ‘independently spirited’ hotel that has made its mark on the sector through its dynamism and innovation.

Last year, Another Place in the Lake District took home the title of Outstanding New Hotel.

The Independent Hotel Show Awards take place on October 15 and will finish at 7pm.

The Boutique Hotelier Personal Service Star Awards will then take place over the road at Hilton Olympia, celebrating the outstanding members of staff in the hospitality industry.

Tags : hotelsIndependent Hotel Show
Zoe Monk

The author Zoe Monk

Leave a Response

Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Enter your email to join the thousands of other professionals receiving breaking news from Boutique Hotelier